Q: How do I find Caldecott Medal or Newbery Medal winning books?


The Caldecott Medal and the Newberry Medal are honors given annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) division of the American Library Association. The Caldecott Medal has been awarded since 1938 and is given to the illustrator of the most distinguished children's picture book. The Newberry Medal has been awarded since 1922 and is given to author of the most distinguished book for children.

Some winners of the Caldecott and Newberry Medals may be tagged in our catalog, but the best way to find individual winners of the awards is to search for the books by title.

You can find a complete list of the Caldecott winners and honored books on the Caldecott Medal website. The Newberry Medal website has a complete list of all the winners and honor books, as well.

For information on other awards for children's literature, please visit the ALSC's website.

For more information

For more help, email the Research and Instructional Services department, or call or visit one of our Research Help Desks:

Sturgis Library at Kennesaw: Ground Floor, Room G-16, 470-578-6325
Johnson Library at Marietta: First Floor, Room C-125, 470-578-7471


Last updated

Last Updated

Jul 19, 2017


Research Help

Walk-In Help
Ground Floor Library, G16 (Kennesaw)
First Floor Library, C125 (Marietta)

Call Us
470-578-6325 (Kennesaw)
470-578-7471 (Marietta)

Text Us

Schedule an Appointment

Help Hours
Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM